Reading Wrap Up – October 2021

No the calendar is not lying it really is November, and this month I am only a week behind on getting to my October reading wrap-up, which has got to be progress of some kind right? And finally today, it actually feels like November (it was almost 80 yesterday, which is totally my excuse for not getting this post out sooner, it couldn’t possibly be November when it is so nice out).

October was not the mind-boggling reading month that September was (32 books seriously, how did I do that) but still pretty good. I finished 19 books with 5 re-reads, 15 Audiobooks and 4 in Print. I also finished The Memory of Fire which is one of the books I have been reading for what seems like most of the year (since June, so yeah). I was on a pretty big Sci-fi kick this month, I finished 4 and started another 2 which is a lot for me. I also found two books that are definitely in the running for best new reads of the year The Magnolia Sword by Sherry Thomas and Soulless by Gail Carriger (I may have to go over the 10 favorites I used last year at this rate).

Books Finished

  • Changes for Felicity by Valerie Tripp
  • Very Funny, Elizabeth by Valerie Tripp
  • What a Rogue Desires by Caroline Linden
  • Network Effect by Martha Wells
  • Fugitive Telemetry by Martha Wells
  • The Magnolia Sword by Sherry Thomas
  • Cosmos by Carl Sagan
  • A Rake’s Guide to Seduction by Caroline Linden
  • The Bride Says No by Cathy Maxwell
  • Anxious People by Fredrik Backman – Review
  • Soulless by Gail Carriger
  • 10 Things I Hate about Pinky by Sandhya Menon
  • The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett
  • Aurora Rising by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – Review
  • Half Magic by Edward Eager
  • The Trouble with Honor by Julia London
  • Someone to Watch Over Me by Lisa Kleypas
  • All Systems Red by Martha Wells
  • The Memory of Fire by Callie Bates

Book Haul

  • Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson – I have heard lots of good things about this Graphic Novel, also it really goes with the Raina Telgemeier which I also found in the Little Free Library in September.
  • Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep by Liz Kessler – Still haven’t read the first book of this series but they just look so cute, so I just had to pick this one up right?
  • The Fairy-Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley – I have been seeing the Sister’s Grimm books for years but have yet to read any, so maybe this is a sign from the LFL fairies that I should read them.
  • The Unicorns of Balinor by Mary Stanton – I am honestly not sure why exactly I picked this book up, other than it was a fantasy book at the LFL, we shall see if I get to it.
  • Yona of the Dawn, Vols. 17, 19, 20 & 32 by Mizuho Kusanagi – Yes I got more volumes, no I have not read the new volume yet, I know, I know.
  • Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng – Ok so really funny story about why I picked this book up from the LFL. I was making the rounds in my neighborhood and there was someone looking at the selections in the biggest one around (it tends to get the most turnover too), so walked around another block to come back a bit latter so it would be empty but when I came back around there was another person there and had to wait again, at which point I had to pick something up just to make it all worth it and this was there.
  • Dial A for Aunties by Jesse Q. Sutanto – Have I raved about this book enough yet? No, good. This was one of the two books I picked up at Read Queen, this amazing little indi that I finally made it to this month. This book is amazing and was just waiting to find the right moment to get my own copy, and this was definitely it.
  • All Systems Red by Martha Wells – So I was pretty much expecting to find Dial A for Aunties at Read Queen but I had not expected to find this book there. So, I was really excited to find it and just had to get it.

Shows I Am Loving Right Now

  • Bridgerton (Netflix) – Yes, I am watching this show again (I also just started the first book over again as well). Netflix still does not seem to think we might want to know exactly when the new season is coming out but I am assuming it will be soon, and I am pretty excited about it, so naturally I had to go back and watch the first season, and this time I am reading the book as well (I was getting pretty fuzzy on what they had changed for the show and it was bugging me that I couldn’t remember).
  • Her Private Life (Netflix) – My latest K-Drama obsession. I am loving this show so much, I am only a little way into it so far but we already have the set up of a fun romance complete with secret identities. I am pretty sure it is setting up a fake relationship (from the previews of the next episode). So in other words all the right ingredients for just the sort of K-Drama/rom-com I really enjoy. (and before you ask, no I have not watched Squid Game and I have no intention of ever watching it. I was chatting with one of my friends about it and she confirmed my initial assessment that I would not like it and not to bother).
  • The Great British Baking Show (Netflix) – New episodes are up, I have missed this show and the new season has been pretty fun so far.

October Posts

Happy Reading Everyone!


Reading Buffs Home | New Posts | New Reviews Instagram StoryGraph


One thought on “Reading Wrap Up – October 2021

Leave a comment