Currently Reading – 6/9/21

Happy Wednesday, so it’s time for another reading check in.

I have finished a respectable 4 books this week, and I got book mail (yes two more volumes of Yona, which took forever to show up). I probably would have finished more if I wasn’t also working on a video project that would just be impossible to pay attention to a book and work on at the same time. Oh, and the Netflix that too. And Podcasts.. yeah.

I also nearly forgot that I was going to do a spring reading highlights, I will get to it eventually, thought it might actually be summer before I get around to writing it with my luck.

Currently Reading

  • Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix – Oh WHY?
  • Magic Kindgom for Sale–Sold! by Terry Brooks – I almost picked this up last night but just went to bed instead.
  • Renegades by Marissa Meyer – Well I had been planning on finishing this book this week, but that didn’t happen, I renewed it so I probably will read other books that are due sooner before I finish this.
  • All Fall Down by Ally Carter – I hadn’t been planning on starting this book, but it was just calling me after I finished Emerald Green. It just screams summer, and is basically a tradition to read at this point. My Review

Recently Finished

  • Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 3 by Mizuho Kusanagi – This series is so much fun, but getting my hands on the other early volumes is going to be tough, I may *gasp* have to skip some.
  • Emerald Green by Kerstin Geir – Somehow my headphones running out of batteries right at the climactic scene was a bit jarring. Still great, but this is exactly why the 20 page rule exists.
  • Chobits, Vols. 5-8 by Clamp – Well I finished… and it was fine.
  • Bookish and the Beast by Ashley Poston – Oh boy this book, yeah this series is so much fun. I just finished earlier today and I am still processing a bit. I think the second book will end up being my favorite of the series, but I really enjoyed it, I listened to the last 4 hours of the audio in one sitting so that is a pretty good sign. I think my favorite detail might just be that the MC named his dog Sansa, which I just thought was great. Yeah it’s the details like that that make this nerd gold.

What I Might Read Next

  • The Memory of Fire by Callie Bates – Yup, still sitting in my pile of books.
  • Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Probably the next book I will actually start, it is due next.
  • A Pho Love Story by Loan Le – My hold came in on Friday and it just looks like so much fun.

Currently Watching

Still Watching:

  • Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries (PBS) – I tried to watch the behind the scenes episode this week, but I was just so not into it.
  • Love Alarm (Netflix) – I got through one more episode this week, I definitely didn’t see some of those plot points coming.
  • Sword Art Online (Netflix) – Well I have moved on to season 2, there is a lot I have issues with with that first episode, ok mostly just one scene, I just bugged me so much.
  • Sense8 (Netflix) – I watched two more episodes this week, though I did end up getting sidetracked by other shows.
  • Shadow and Bone (Netflix) – I did it I watched the second episode, still not sure I am really into it though. Though you do have to love Ben Barnes right?
  • Stranger (Netflix) – Not sure if I will keep watching this on my own, since I have already watched all of it.
  • Ragnarok (Netflix) – I did it, I started back at the beginning, you would not think that a show with only 6 episodes in the first season would be that hard to get through but it seems that I have managed it.

Recently Started:

  • Because This is My First Life (Netflix) – Attention everyone, I just found the Korean version of Sheldon, complete with roommate agreement, and the cutest cat. Ok maybe it is just that I started this right after watching an episode of Big Bang Theory, but the parallels are totally there. Yeah I am enjoying this show so far.
  • Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? (Netflix) – I nearly forgot that I started this show too. I have heard about it for ages and so when it showed up on Netflix recently I decided to give it a try, I have only watched the first episode so I haven’t figured out if I am enjoying it yet.

Happy Reading Everyone!


Reading Buffs Home | New Posts | New Reviews Instagram


4 thoughts on “Currently Reading – 6/9/21

Leave a comment