Currently Reading – 8/5/20

Happy Wednesday everyone. Time for another reading check in.

This week has been pretty good, I finished two books (which may sound familiar) and had two holds come in at the library, one which I had been waiting for for months. I have fully embraced my love of rereading this week and it has made me quite happy.

Also, great news, the Library has reopened! I went inside the building for the first time since March (beyond our very pretty entryway that is, where they had holds for pick up, the photo is from last year).

I have also started a bunch of new shows which I have been enjoying. I also watched Stardust over the weekend and I will be putting out a review soon.

I have also been trying to catch up with unread blog posts recently (though I am not exactly optimistic about my progress, I am just so behind …sigh).

Currently Reading

  • Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix – I read a few chapters this week and reading it has made me quite happy.
  • Hero at the Fall by Alwyn Hamilton – Yup it is still here, I keep looking at it and intending to go back but haven’t. – Review of Book 1
  • Framing the Financial Crisis: Television news, civic discussions, and maintaining consent in a time of crisis by Meagan Zurn – I don’t think I have read any more this week. you can also read The Short Version.
  • The Unbound Queen by M. J. Scott – I haven’t gone back to this recently, I blame leaving downstairs after I took photos (that sounds plausible right?). – Review of Book 1
  • Castle in the Clouds by Kertin Gier – Just started this book again on audio earlier today. I am enjoying it and I think audio was the way to go with this book.

Recently Finished

  • See How They Run by Ally Carter – Yes, I did it, I read this book a second time in three weeks. I think it is my favorite of the series. – Review of Book 1
  • The Princess Companion by Melanie Cellier – When I said I liked to reread I was not kidding. I also read this book (well listened to the audiobook), a second time and I should have a review out by next week.

What I Might Read Next

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber – Still haven’t started this book.
  • The Betrothed by Kiera Cass – Haven’t started this book yet either, I have had it from the library for two weeks already.
  • Shelter Mountain by Robyn Carr – My hold finally came in! This is the second book in the Virgin River series and I have had a hold on the audiobook since March when I read the first book.

Currently Watching

Still watching:

  • Rookie Blue – I am still part way through season 3 at the moment.
  • My Only Love Song (Netflix) – I am getting close to then end, so I am taking my time enjoying it.
  • Avatar: The Last Airbender (Netflix) – I have watched watched quite a bit of this show recently, I just finished the first season.
  • Pride and Prejudice (PBS) – I have been really enjoying watching this on PBS, I love Pride and Prejudice.

Recently started:

  • Once Upon A Time (Netflix) – I technically started re-watching this show back in May but I have only come back to watch more episodes recently. I think it has been a great compliment to all the fairytale retelling I have been reeding recently.
  • The West Wing (Netflix) – This was the only show that really made sense to watch after I finished Madam Secretary.
  • It’s Okay to Not Be Okay (Netflix) – New K-Drama on Netflix, and it was not what I was expecting, but I still am enjoying it. The show features a Children’s book author, so I had been thinking something along the lines of Romance is a Bonus Book but she (the author) is basically Tim Burton so it is way darker than I had expected.
  • My Secret Romance (Netflix) – I started this show last night and it has been so cute so far, I watched two and half episodes straight.

Recently finished:

  • Madam Secretary (Netflix) – I think I went a little overboard with this show at the end, I watched the last two seasons in about two days. The last season is not my favorite but I still really enjoy the world and characters in this show.

Madam Secretary

Happy Reading Everyone!


Reading Buffs Home New and Notable Instagram
New Reviews | Harry Potter and the Mystery of the Banned Books


One thought on “Currently Reading – 8/5/20

Leave a comment